Grand Place, Brussels

20140213-173135.jpg

There are so many architectural highlights of Brussels, but the Grand Place on first sight takes your breath away and even more so at night.  It was my second port of call when I got to Brussels, after the hotel and lunch … ok third, but my first tourist attraction.

As soon as I walked into the square with its three types of architecture (Baroque, Gothic and Louis XIV), my first reaction was “wow” and wow is what I kept saying as I turned around and around in circles, trying to take it all in.  Photographs almost don’t do it justice ~ the amount of gold on these buildings is extraordinary.

And at night, the square takes on a whole different atmosphere, the buildings are lit up in an ethereal way and the wow comes back all over again.

One thought on “Grand Place, Brussels”

Leave a Reply

