Ice Bucket Challenge

The summer of 2014 is going to be remembered as the summer where people doused themselves in ice cold water in aid of charity – hopefully the “charity” bit won’t be forgotten and that millions was raised for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis) a neurodegenerative disease – which is progressive and incurable.

I, like millions of others, took to the challenge and donated to charity. Like many a Londoner I have no outside space, so once I’d jammed my iPad into the bathroom cabinet (first world problems), I took to the bath to pour a bucket of water with 2kg of ice Over My Head! From my face it’s rather apparent that its like wtf am I doing? … and also from my rather choice language. But the lucky part for me is that I could walk away, change clothes, dry off and look back and laugh – not the case if you have ALS.

It’s good that for a brief while in the summer of 2014 people bandied together for a cause – were it not for social media awareness and the amount of money raised would have been significantly less.

For more information on ALS, see their wesbite [here]

 

Leave a Reply

