Fucking FitBit Challenge 

I thought it was a good idea to buy my brother and his fiancé FitBit’s for Christmas.  I also thought it was a good idea to challenge them to a Workweek Hustle … I was wrong on both fronts!

Before I’d even got out of bed on Monday morning I’m already 5,000 steps behind all three of the US guys ~ I *thought* their challenge would start at their midnight, not my midnight, giving them 5 extra active hours … arse, bloody arse!

On top of that it seems that my brother is even more competitive that I am – after day one he’s streaking ahead of everyone after striding around the car dealership endlessly.  This triggered his fiancé to set out at pace, leaving Carol and I floundering with meagre step-counts, even though I’d exceeded my step goal by dancing for hours in the evening. Day 1, 3rd.

IMG_6092But then Carol got competitive; Andy and Melissa continued at pace; and I worked late on Tuesday, barely moving ~ there was no coming back from it for me, even walking 2.5miles home on Wednesday; going to a torturous Zumba session at Pineapple Dance Studios on Thursday; and walking into the West End from work, then doing a dance lesson on Friday.  Even with 414 (!!!) active minutes in the five days; and encouraging messages to my fellow competitors along the lines of “stop fucking moving!” I still came a resounding last.

Well Done Carol on the win!

It begs the question what the hell do you have to do to come first in one of these challenges?

As an aside Andrew has now been banned from any further competitions as he turned into a monster … what have our fitbit’s turned us into??

Leave a Reply

